International selection... Traditional & gourmet.

Kosher Wine

Kosher Wine

Kosher wine (Hebrew: יין כשר, yayin kashér) is grape wine produced according to Judaism's religious law, specifically, Jewish dietary laws (kashrut).

To be considered kosher, Sabbath-observant male Jews must supervise the entire winemaking process and any ingredients used, including finings, must be kosher.[1] Wine that is described as "kosher for Passover" must have been kept free from contact with grain, bread and dough.[2]

When kosher wine is produced, marketed and sold commercially, it must have the hechsher ("seal of approval") of a kosher supervising agency or organization, or of an authoritative rabbi who is preferably also a posek ("decisor" of Jewish law) or be supervised by a beth din ("Jewish religious court of law").

In recent times, there has been an increased demand for kosher wines and a number of wine producing countries now produce a wide variety of sophisticated kosher wines under strict rabbinical supervision, particularly in Israel, the United States, France, Germany, Italy, South Africa, and Australia. Two of the world's largest producers and importers of kosher wines, Kedem and Manischewitz, are both based in the Northeastern United States.